VideoScribe Help

Allow Microphone Permissions

Last updated: 17 April 2018


This instant answer will show you how to allow microphone permissions in the Chrome browser on an Android device.


Storypix includes a recording feature that allows you to record audio for the scenes that you set on your image.

To enable this, you will need to allow the app to access the Microphone from your device.

The process differs depending on the combination of device and browser that you're using.

We will show you how to do this using the Chrome, Safari and Firefox browsers.

Chrome Browser on Android OS

Step 1. Using the Chrome browser, select the 3 vertical dots on the top right to open the Customise and control Google Chrome menu (A).

Step 2. Select ‘Settings’ (B).

Step 3. Select ‘Advanced’ (C) and then select ‘Site settings’ (D).

Step 4. Select Microphone (E).

Step 5. Select https://app.storypix.co.uk (F).

Step 6. Select 'Access your microphone' select select 'Allow’ (G).

Step 7. Return to the StoryPix canvas and you will now be able to record.

Firefox Browser on Windows OS

Step 1. Click on the Microphone icon (A) on the left of the screen and then click on the record button (B), this will then display a prompt.

Step 2. Select your preferred microphone from the dropdown list (C) and confirm that you want to 'Always share' (D) it with the Storypix from the second drop-down menu.

Safari Browser on Mac OS

Step 1. Click on the Refresh button (A) and a prompt will be displayed requesting permission to access the microphone. Click on ‘Allow’ (B)

Step 2. Once selected, a red microphone icon (C) will be displayed in the address bar to show you that the microphone is in use.

Chrome Browser on Mac and Windows OS

Step 1. On the browser, click on the 3 vertical dots on the top right to open the Customise and control Google Chrome menu (A).

Step 2. Click ‘Settings’ (B).


Step 3. Click ‘Advanced’ (C).


Step 4. Click ‘Content Settings’ (D).


Step 5. Click ‘Microphone’ (E).


Step 6. Under the ‘Block’ header, you will see the StoryPix URL (F). Click the trash icon that corresponds to the URL (G).


Step 7. The StoryPix URL will no longer be displayed under the Block list.


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Can you please tell us how we can improve this article?

Related articles